WHERE’S YOUR JOY

Standard
WHERE’S YOUR JOY

 

1 Thessalonians 5:16 NKJV
“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Romans 12:12 NKJV
“…rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer…”

True joy only comes from God. Too many times people are looking for things or other people to give them joy. When that does not materialize they keep looking somewhere else. Often times these people are continually discouraged. Up one day and down the next.

Things or people will not give a person true joy. Knowing that all is right between you and God and that He is always with you, no matter what you are going through, and that He has a plan for your life brings true joy. Instead of wallowing in self-pity when things are not going the way you want them to, we must try to find the good in the circumstance. Something beautiful can be found in whatever season you are in. – good times and bad times. However, you must purposely look for it.

Just like the Israelites in captivity, many have allowed their circumstances to rule how they feel. They have ceased looking to God for joy.

Psalm 137:1- 4 NKJV
“By the rivers of Babylon, There we sat down, yea, we wept When we remembered Zion. We hung our harps Upon the willows in the midst of it. For there those who carried us away captive asked of us a song, And those who plundered us requested mirth, Saying, “Sing us one of the songs of Zion!” How shall we sing the Lord’s song In a foreign land?

After going into captivity, the once joyful people stopped singing songs of praise and adoration to God. They allowed their grief to rule over their lives rather than remembering that God was with them and that He had a plan.

Dear Father,
Thank-you for everything that You have done for me and everything that You are going to do. May I never cease to rejoice in You. By the power of the Holy Spirit, may I walk in Your perfect will and may I never allow things or people to come before You. Help me to continue steadfastly in prayer. My joy comes from You, and You alone. Things or people can never fill that place within me that belongs to You. I can rejoice in knowing that You are with me no matter what I am going through – no matter what season of life I am in. You will never forsake me or leave me. Help me to look for the good in every situation and in all circumstances. May I never cease to sing songs of praise and adoration to You. Thank-you for the plan You have for me and my life.
In Jesus’ name. Amen

Leave a Reply

