The Bible And Sanctification

Standard
The Bible And Sanctification

God’s Word has an effect on a person that is undergoing sanctification. They allow the Word of God to cleanse them and make them holy.

John 17:17 NKJV
“Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth.”

Toward the end of Jesus’ earthly ministry He asks God to sanctify the believers, which means set them apart. The only way a believer can be truly set apart from the world is by the truth found in the Word of God.

Psalm 119:11 NKJV
“Your word I have hidden in my heart,
That I might not sin against You.”

Believers must hear God’s Word and do what it says. They must act upon the truths found in God’s Word.

James 1:22-25 NKJV
“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.”
you meat, and you shall eat.”

Dear Father,
I thank-you for Your Word and all the wonderful promises that You have given me in it. May I allow Your Word to cleanse me and make me holy. Fill me with a desire for greater sanctification. By the power of the Holy Spirit, set me apart from the world by the truths found in Your Word. Help me to hide Your Word in my heart that I might not sin against You. Help me to hear Your Word and do what it says.
In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

