The Bread Of Life

Standard
The Bread Of Life

John 6:35 NKJV
“And Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.’ ”

Bread is our most basic food. We use the word bread to speak of the basic food that keeps our bodies alive. It is a source of great nutrition and a means of keeping alive. Jesus is the Bread of Life. He is the bread which supplies life. He provides satisfaction forever for our spiritual hunger.
Manna (bread) satisfied the physical needs of people for a short time, but Jesus, the Bread of Life, satisfies our spiritual need forever. As bread sustains physical life, so Christ offers and sustains spiritual life. The nourishment and satisfaction He offers are permanent.

John 6:47-51 NKJV
“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me has everlasting life. I am the bread of life. Your fathers ate the manna in the wilderness, and are dead. This is the bread which comes down from heaven, that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever, and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world.”

As our bodies feel hunger for food, so our souls feel hunger for forgiveness and peace. Only Jesus can satisfy the hunger in our souls. Just as bread will not do us any good unless we take it into our bodies, Jesus will not save us until we receive Him as our Savior from sin. Once we do, Jesus will continue to feed us spiritually through His Word.

Dear Father,
Thank-you for providing me with everything that I need. The Bread that You have given me supplies life and provides satisfaction forever for my spiritual hunger. Thank-you for the forgiveness and peace that I have through Jesus Christ. By the power of the Holy Spirit, help me to feed on Your Word daily.
In Jesus’ name, Amen

Leave a Reply

