Light And Responsibilities

Standard
Light And Responsibilities

Light is a brightness that enables us to see. Light brings understanding or shows the way.

Matthew 5:14 NKJV
“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.”

Without light we have no way of seeing in the dark. Without the light of Jesus Christ the world has no way of seeing in this dark (sinful) world. We are to be the light of the world.

Colossians 1:12 NKJV
“…giving thanks to the Father who has qualified us to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in the light.”

With every inheritance comes responsibilities. Christians have a responsibility to be a light everywhere they go and in everything they do.

Philippians 2:14-15 NKJV
“Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world.”

The light within us (the light of Christ) should penetrate the spiritual darkness around us. We do not have any light of our own. We are the reflective light of Jesus Christ. As we behold the glory of the Lord, we reflect it. We are the light of the world as long as we reflect Jesus Christ. We must make sure that nothing comes between us and the light of Jesus Christ.

Dear Father,
Thank-you that You have qualified me to be a partaker of the inheritance of the saints in the light.
I know that with inheritance comes responsibilities so, I ask that I may be light everywhere I go and in everything I do. By the power of the Holy Spirit, help me to do all things without complaining and disputing, that I may become blameless and harmless, without fault in the midst of this crooked and perverse generation. Cause the light that You have placed within me to penetrate the spiritual darkness around me. Help me to make sure that nothing comes between me and the light of Jesus Christ – may I be His
reflective light.
In Jesus’ name, Amen

Leave a Reply

