Rededication

Standard

h1

 

Many years (around 1000 years) after the rededication of the temple, Jesus went to the temple to celebrate the Feast of Dedication.

John 10:22 NKJV

“Now it was the Feast of Dedication in Jerusalem, and it was winter. And Jesus walked in the temple, in Solomon’s porch.”

As Jesus stood in the temple looking at the lamp and at the oil in it, what was He thinking? The oil represented the first pressing of the olives. It was clean, pure and a golden color. In essence, the oil represented Him – He was pure, deity, and He would be pressed. Jesus knew that He was set apart for a specific purpose and that God had a plan for Him and for all mankind.

Just as Jesus stood gazing into the light of the menorah reflecting upon His life, we too must gaze into the Word of God as we reflect upon our lives. Also, just like Jesus, God has a specific plan and purpose for our lives.

When we are dedicated to God we will devote our attention to Him, spend time and energy pursuing Him, commit ourselves and everything about our lives to Him, set ourselves apart for His purpose, and strive for holiness.

In our Christian walk we sometimes allow things to creep into our lives that hinder God’s purpose and plan for our lives. May each of us gaze into the Word of God for a time of self-examination, and dedicate ourselves fresh and anew to God.

 

Dear Father,

Thank-you that You have a plan and a purpose for me and for my life. I desire to devote my attention to You, spend time and energy pursuing You. I commit myself and everything about my life to You, and I willingly set myself apart for Your purpose. Holy Spirit help me to strive for holiness in everything I do, say and think.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

